Easy 3 Ingredient DIY Deodorant

Hi there everyone! My last batch of DIY deodorant ran out yesterday so I thought I would get up early today, be productive and whip up a fresh batch. It is so quick and easy to make and smells heavenly!

I’ve been using this recipe for a few months now and it works really well. I have gifted my mam a pot and even though she is picky she swears by it 🙂 I gave it to one of my friends too and she even recommends it to her co workers. My boyfriend likes it to wear it too so it even works on man stink! I tries it out in our recent ‘heatwave’ when I could give it a proper workout and it held up really well.

I’ve found I sweat way less using this instead of conventional roll-on deodorants, which I always had to reapply throughout the day. My skin is not that sensitive but I found most conventional deodorants irritated my skin and even sometimes gave me a rash. I’ve found that now I’m not using conventional deodorants I sometimes can even go days without putting on any deodorant as by avoiding harsh antiperspirants your body is not accumulating a build-up of smelly toxins. Sweating is one of the main ways our bodies detox, so instead of blocking those toxins in that our bodies are trying to flush out, you are simply gently and naturally neutralising odour.

Of course eating a clean vegan diet and drinking plenty of water(in a reusable bottle!) also helps to neutralise body odours! This deodorant is vegan and cruelty-free 🙂 The joy of making your your own skincare products is knowing exactly what’s going into them!

Conventional deodorants are definitely not the best for our body’s natural rhythms and even ‘natural’ deodorants I’ve tried in health food shops have not cut the mustard! When it comes to skincare and hygiene, the simpler the better.

Heres what you’ll need:

  • Coconut oil
  • Bicarbonate of soda
  • Orange essential oil(optional)
  • A container to store the deodorant
  • Hot water to melt the coconut oil if it’s solid
  • 3 teaspoons

The coconut oil kills bacteria, fungi and yeast,  it smells great and it gives the deodorant a creamy consistency so it is easy to apply. You can find coconut oil in health food shops or in most supermarkets. I got mine in Holland and Barrett on Shop Street in Galway. Be sure to get one in glass, not plastic. Coconut oil is well worth investing in as it is so versatile. You can use it as a moisturiser, make-up remover and in cooking.

The bicarbonate of soda(aka baking soda) neutralises odour and soak ups moisture. I got my bicarb in Marks and Spencers but I have yet to find any packaged in paper.

The orange essential oil gives it a nice citrusy fresh scent but you can swap this for another essential oil if you like or leave it out all together as the coconut oil smells lovely on its own too. Essential oils are available in health food shops too.

I use a small container that I got second hand online as part of a travel set and I like it as it it handy to keep in your bag when you’re out and about or if you are travelling it won’t take up too much space in your bag. It’s also a good idea to make this in small batches as if you don’t like it you won’t have wasted too many ingredients. You should like it though, it really does work wonders!

 

IMG_20160518_104915IMG_20160518_104946

I usually eyeball the ingredients but it is roughly a 1:1 ration of coconut oil to bicarb.

Instructions:

  • Melt the coconut oil if it’s solid. I poured boiling water into a jug and put the jar of oil in for a few minutes until it was liquid.
  • Put 1 teaspoon of coconut oil into the container.
  • Put 1 teaspoon bicarb into the container, mix together.
  • Continue adding 1:1 oil to bicarb and mixing until the container if almost full.
  • Add 10 drops of orange essential oil and mix in.

Voilà! There you have it! It only takes about five minutes. Keep in mind that the coconut oil will harden again after a while so if the deodorant seems too liquid it will be fine after it has cooled down.

To apply simply scoop out some deodorant with your nail and rub onto your skin. Enjoy!

 

11 thoughts on “Easy 3 Ingredient DIY Deodorant

  1. made right (here) says:

    Wow! I’m terrible at making things but this sounds so easy I might even succeed 🙂 I’ve tried going without,due to the chemicals in deodorant, and it’s been ok (not very smelly person LOL) but ultimately needed to read exactly this. So thanks 🙂
    Cheers
    Anna @ made right (here)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. busygreenmum says:

    Finally got round to making this – I used a drop of lemon oil in place of the orange as that’s what I happened to have ( as I prefer the smell of lemon) and softened the coconut oil very briefly in microwave. Been using for last 3 days and think it is even better than the Lush bar I was using.

    Liked by 1 person

      • busygreenmum says:

        Do u find u need to apply every day or does it last longer like some bought cream deodorants (thinking of the Trust one I used for my empty container) ?. Confined to the house today with a poorly child so a chance to test if it lasts 2 days (though as I won’t be walking anywhere to break a sweat maybe not the most challenging experiment). Just wondered if u had tried this already?

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

