52 Book Challenge(2016)

Hi fellow bibliophiles 🙂

Following on from my post on minimalism and books I thought I would try to document my 2016 52 book challenge. I tried to do this challenge last year and I got to around 40 books. I don’t remember the exact number because I accidentally deleted the list of books I had read! The aim is to read a book a week, although it does not have to be that strict eg you could read 2 books in a week and then no books the next.

Since the start of 2016, I have only managed to read 10 books! I like having a goal though, and by keeping a list here I can track my progress easily. Hopefully this post will motivate me to reach my goal! I am also trying to read all the books I own so I can donate them so I can have less book clutter at home.

Even if you don’t get near to 52 books, it is still a good motivator to get you to turn off the screens that are taking over our lives. I think most of us wished we didn’t spend so much time on the internet. It’s a kick up the bum to make you remember that reading is great 😀 It helps to remind me to pick up a book instead of mindlessly trawling the internet for hours on end.

Reading is the perfect Zero Waste, thrifty, eco-friendly hobby 🙂 Visiting the library and browsing bookshops is one kind of shopping I like to do 🙂 Library books are free and second hand books in charity shops are super cheap! Download e-books instantly if there is something you have in mind but that you can’t find or remember to look for in a bookshop. Listen to an audiobook on the go. Read before bed or on your lunch break. Get outside and read. Give it a try!

My completed books:

  1.  The Goldfinch, Donna Tartt
  2. Double Fault, Lionel Shriver
  3. No Impact Man, Colm Beavan (audiobook)
  4. Slaughterhouse 5, Kurt Vonnegut
  5. Pigeon English, Stephen Kelman
  6. White Tiger, Aravind Adiga
  7. The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals, Michael Pollan
  8. Diary of a Manhattan Call Girl, Tracy Quan
  9. Zero Waste Home, Bea Johnson
  10. Everyday Sexism, Laura Bates
  11. Bad Feminist, Roxanne Gay
  12. Girl Up, Laura Bates
  13. Why We Love Dogs, Eat Pigs, and Wear Cows: An Introduction to Carnism, Melanie Joy (audiobook)
  14. Cujo, Stephen King
  15. The Adventure of the Christmas Pudding, Agatha Christie
  16. Planet Simpson, Chris Turner
  17. Farenheit 451, Ray Bradbury
  18. Stuffocation, James Wallman
  19. Octopus Pie, Vol. 1
  20. Drinking at the Movies, Julia Wertz
  21. Planet of the Apes, Pierre Boulle
  22. Eating Animals, Jonathan Safran Foer
  23. Cinderella Ate My Daughter: Dispatches from the Front Line of the New Girlie-Girl Culture, Peggy Orenstein
  24. Museum of Mistakes, Julia Wertz
  25. Woman on the Edge of Time, Marge Piercy
  26. Will Travel For Vegan Food, Kristin La Jeunesse
  27. The Rosie Project, Graeme Simsion
  28. The Vegan Monologues, Ben Shaberman
  29. Jerry’s Vegan Women, Ben Shaberman
  30. We Should All Be Feminists, Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche
  31. Meathooked: The History and Science of our 2.5 Million Year Obsession With Meat, Marta Zaraska
  32. The Vegetarian, Han Kang

Will keep you posted 🙂

4 thoughts on “52 Book Challenge(2016)

Leave a Reply

