My Top 7 Vegan Eats in NYC

Hi everyone! I just got back from a trip to New York and wanted to write about all the lovely vegan food I had on my travels.

  • Falansai in Brooklyn serves delicious Vietnamese food. I’m not that adventurous when it comes to food but I wanted to try something different and I loved it! They have loads of vegan options and their food was great value and really filling. To start I got Autumn rolls, with veggies wrapped in rice paper served with a red plum soy sauce. For my main I got Pho Chay, a vegan noodle soup with greens, mushrooms, tofu and okra in vegetable broth. All this totaled $17!

 

  • Don Antonio Their pizza vegana was so good! The ingredients were so fresh and full of flavour. Not too expensive and right near Times Square so perfect for a pre-show meal.

pizza don antonio

 

  • Champ’s Diner in Brooklyn was great! They are a 100% vegan restaurant but have options to please carnivores too. I loved the diner atmosphere here and the super friendly staff. I got a tall stack of Red Velvet pancakes for $12 and I couldn’t finish them. My eyes were bigger than my belly…but they were delicious! My friends got a tall stack of Smore’s pancakes which were also fantastic and a quinoa bowl that was bursting with veggie goodness.

 

  • Red Bamboo in Greenwich Village was a great find. I got a 3 course meal here for under $25 dollars, which is no mean feat in NYC. I got Dragonfly dumplings to start, and Eggplant Parmesan as a main. Their root beer float was one of the most sickeningly sweet desserts I’ve ever tasted and I was tempted to go back there the next day just to indulge in its sugary goodness but I restrained myself and tried some other vegan options instead.

 

  • Galanga is another great restaurant in Greenwich Village. I got a Thai Peanut Curry that was really creamy and had just a bit of spice. Fantastic value and a nice place to sit in.

IMG_20160530_204840

 

  • Dos Caminos is a fantastic Mexican restaurant with several locations across New York. I loved this place so much I went there 2 days in a row. I went to the one in Chelsea AND the one in Times Square. The 1st day in Chelsea, I got a taco bowl and a HUGE plate of guacamole and tortilla chips which was far too much food for one person! On the 2nd day I got the guac again but this time had 2 other people to share it with 🙂 I also got tacos in wraps the 2nd time round. Yum 🙂

guac

 

  • Shaka is a cool Mexican burrito bar with a surf themed decor and eco bamboo interiors 🙂 I got a quesadilla without cheese(!) but I got extra avocado instead! I also had a refreshing root beer 😀

 

Honourable mentions:

I was a ‘cheegan’ at these 2 restaurants 😦

At Tipsy Parson in Chelsea I got a kale salad with strawberries, blueberries and blackberries! It’s hard to find berries not packaged in plastic but when I do I’ll be making a berry salad. It was so fresh and yum. Unfortunately I forgot to ask for this without cheese but you can request it without cheese and I’m sure they would be happy to accommodate you.

I shared a large pizza with my friends at Lombardi’s in Little Italy so it came with cheese 😦 I actually went there as I saw it online recommended as a place with options for omnis and vegans but there was nothing explicitly vegan on the menu. Their menu said no substitutions but I think you could maybe ask for a pizza with no cheese? I don’t know if a lot of places have this ‘no substitution’ rule, that was the first time I had seen it anyway.

I also had the misfortune of eating in Applebee’s. Nothing vegetarian or vegan so I had to get soup and a salad. Oh the joys.

Leave a Reply

