2017 Goals// Minimalism & Upping my Hippy Game

I’ve always liked New Year’s resolutions. While you can start adopting new habits at any time of the year, I find that the approach of January gives me a much needed kick up the butt to motivate me to make some plans for the year ahead, both big and small. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with having lot of resolutions as there’s a lot that can happen in a whole year 🙂 Even if I don’t get round to completing these until December, I’ll still have something to aim for in the meantime. Here’s my rambly 2017 “to-do” list:

FOOD

  • Eat at home at last 5 days a week (eating out is great for lazy people but bad for the wallet!)
  • Try new recipes
  • Make rough weekly meal plans
  • Reduce/eliminate fizzy drinks
  • Meal prep/Make batch meals and freeze them – I love the idea of not having to cook everyday!
  • Eat more greens!
  • Make pizza from scratch
  • Bake bread from scratch
  • More vegan baking!
  • Give juicing a whirl (zing!)

 

FINANCE

  • Cancel credit card
  • Start a proper saving account
  • Research being a freelance translator!
  • Work more towards a higher level of financial freedom – very much inspired recently by Mark Boyle’s book The Moneyless Manifesto

 

MINIMALISM/ENVIRONMENTALISM

  • If I am on my phone to assuage severe boredom, I wanna read ebooks or blogs instead of mindlessly scrolling on social media
  • Don’t go on Facebook everyday
  • Try digital sabbatical weekends, or no electricity days (challenging but fun idea!)
  • Declutter more
  • Try no-shampoo methods
  • Improve clothing repair skills, eg learn to darn socks
  • Buy no new clothes

 

MISCELLANEOUS ZANY GOALS

  • Go to one non European country
  • Knit a baby blanket
  • Do yoga stuff!
  • Go on day trips more & explore Ireland!
  • Occasionally go for walks in Salthill, as it is literally right on my doorstep…
  • Read 52 books, unlike last year…
  • Watch more foreign films

What are your 2017 goals?

4 thoughts on “2017 Goals// Minimalism & Upping my Hippy Game

Leave a Reply

